Skip to content
January 30, 2012 / blisscodisco

Blissful Blabs 2012 January 26 to 29


Found a new website that is a definite tissue alert if you are a big softie like me. It is called Gentle Carousel.

The do some amazing work.

After work Tom and I picked up our friends teenager who wants to get into crimal psychology and headed over to the Bellingham Public Libraries Whatcom Reads presentation of Bellingham CSI and Cold cases.
“…An eye-opening evening presented by officers from the Bellingham Police Department. Sergeant Gitts will talk about different investigations and the types of CSI equipment and processing involved. Then hear Detective Mozelewski describe one of Bellingham’s cold cases and ways that it might be solved…”
It was such a great presentation. It was a real life case story about the Alice Hummel case. The detective that gave the presentation was a great speaker and kept us on the edges of our seats for almost 2 hours. Fascinating and sad all at the same time.


After a super busy 12 patient day, woot!, went home and made the most delicious easy soup.
I found it under Everyday Paleo’s blog, I do not follow Paleo diet but have found a lot of great recipes on that blog.
They Recipe was Another Budget Friendly Paleo Meal by Erika: “Creamy” Chicken Tomato Crockpot Soup
I wanted the recipe tonight so I skipped the crockpot way so here is the Bliss version of Creamy Chicken Tomato Soup.

Bliss Version of Creamy Chicken Tomato Soup with Vegetarian Substitutions.


A busy day showing property in Sedro Woolley with Tom. Was a beautiful 1 acre property with an older manufactured home on it. The land was really nice but the home needs a lot of work. Fingers crossed the sweet first time home buyers get their offer accepted. I think I get as worried and nervous as Tom’s buyers every time he puts in an offer.

I made this:

Chocolate Mousse Frosting (recipe adapted from this recipe)
1 can coconut milk
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
sweetener to taste, I used 1 tablespoon of Maple Syrup, you can use what ever you like

1. Open the coconut milk (NOT lite, very important) use a large spoon to spoon out just the creamy thick part into a medium bowl, leaving the watery juice in the bottom of the can (you can save it for later to add to soup or stirfry.
2. Put the cream in the fridge for a couple hours until frosting consistency.
3. Mix in with a wisk the cocoa powder, vanilla and sweetener of choice.
***it is a bit lumpy but I just try to squish as many lumps as possible.
4. put back in the fridge for as long as you can stand it until thickened again.
Can be eaten plain or used like frosting on a cake.
I put a big spoonful in bowl and put another big spoonful of ricemellow fluff on top. OH MY GOODNESS. yes it was that good. I could have probably eaten the whole bowlful. In fact just writing this I want another serving. But since I have not exercised since Monday, I will not indulge. big sigh.

Watched 50/50.
Inspired by a true story, a comedy centered on a 27-year-old guy who learns of his cancer diagnosis, and his subsequent struggle to beat the disease.
I really liked it and thought it was just the right amount of touching and funny.


I think we looked at almost every water view home in Birch Bay, Birch Bay Village and Blaine :)

So exhausted after the long day but we really had a good time. The clients are super fun and we had lunch at Chuckanut Bay Brewery which is always fun. After showing the last house with this set of clients in Bellingham we zipped back up to Ferndale to show another set of clients a house. I was so exhausted but my mom invited us for salmon dinner and I wasn’t passing that up. Yum. Then it was home to watch a movie. We watched I Love you Phillip Morris.
Steven Russell is happily married to Debbie, and a member of the local police force when a car accident provokes a dramatic reassessment of his life. Steven becomes open about his homosexuality and decides to live life to the fullest – even if it means breaking the law. Steven’s new, extravagant lifestyle involves cons and fraud and, eventually, a stay in the State Penitentiary where he meets sensitive, soft-spoken Phillip Morris. His devotion to freeing Phillip from jail and building the perfect life together prompts Steven to attempt and often succeed at one impossible con after another…
Honestly I found it kind of boring and not very good. I was hoping for a really good movie since I like Jim Carrey and Ewan McGregor.

wt: 158 forgot to add, probably because no change. Which is no surprise since I did not hardly exercise at all this week. The only thing that gets rid of the pounds. But I didn’t gain, portion control is my friend refined flour products are not.


Leave a Comment
  1. Teri Peter Milnes / Jan 30 2012 4:57 pm

    You made the frosting! I’ve been too worried I’ll eat the whole thing, but it’s definitely on my to do list sometime soon. :-) And I’m afraid to weigh myself because I ate WAY too much this weekend.

  2. paula Keeler / Jan 31 2012 7:41 pm

    Thank you for sharing your week! Wanna try the soup. Beeg hugs & Aloha Paula

  3. mcfwriter / Feb 10 2012 8:59 pm

    The latest PCC newsletter talks about paleolithic diets. I’m seriously considering doing something like this. I did Atkins 10 years ago with great success (the pounds melted off while I ate like a trucker – a wedge of brie and a small log of hard salami for dinner, after a huge (croutonless) Caesar salad for lunch), but haven’t been able to do it again (I’ve tried and I don’t lose anything after the first week, even when I also count calories).

    As an aside, the Burke Museum’s current exhibit is all about food and culture and how we eat, including traditional foods of the Northwest coast Salish tribe. I’m hoping to make it to the exhibit before it closes in June.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

